Your browser does not support JavaScript!
Skip to main content block
Visitors: 5295857 

Electromagnetic spectrum

Time of Visit : 5Minute
Comment for Website:
Comment for Exhibition:
Hit Count : 750
Audio Guide

※ For detailed information on videos, slideshows, Interactive Games, and related links, Please join member

Audio Guide
Audio Guide:
Astronomical objects in the universe emit not only visible light but also all kinds of invisible electromagnetic wavelengths. Electromagnetic wavelengths can be categorized according to different frequencies ranging from low to high. It includes radio waves, microwaves, infrared rays, visible light, ultraviolet rays, X-rays, and gamma rays. If we want to understand what a real astronomical object looks like, we need to adopt the method of multi-wavelength observation to find out how it looks like under different wavelengths.

Visitors can see what daily objects or astronomical objects look like under different wavelengths on this large multi-media touch screen. 

Exhibit Introduction:
What is electromagnetic spectrum? Electromagnetic waves are classified into radio waves, microwaves, infrared, visible light, ultraviolet, X-ray and Gamma-ray, ordered according to their frequency, from the lowest to the highest. The spectrum of visible light is very narrow. Most of the electromagnetic waves can’t be observed by our naked eyes.