Your browser does not support JavaScript!
Skip to main content block
Visitors: 5556410 

Hubble's classification of galaxies

Time of Visit : 5Minute
Comment for Website:
Comment for Exhibition:
Hit Count : 2032
Audio Guide

※ For detailed information on videos, slideshows, Interactive Games, and related links, Please join member

Audio Guide
Audio Guide:
Astronomer Edwin Hubble categorized star systems into three groups based on their shapes: ellipticals, spirals, and lenticulars. Ellipticals are mainly composed of old stars with very little dust and interstellar matter, whereas spirals and lenticulars have many young stars and a large amount of dust. This system of classification is known as the Hubble sequence or Hubble’s classification scheme. Because the shape of the diagram resembles a tuning fork, the sequence is also often referred to as the Hubble tuning fork diagram. It is worth noting that the Hubble sequence only classifies star systems based on their shape and is not related to their evolution. 
You can rotate the images of the star system with your hand motion to learn more about star systems.

Exhibit Introduction:
Using Motion-Sensitive Interactive technology allows the visitors to rotate the image of galaxies and get to know the various appearances of galaxies. Through the images, the visitors can know the different galaxy types under Hubble’s classification: elliptical galaxy, helix galaxy, spiral galaxy, lenticular galaxy, and irregular galaxy. Other galaxy classification such as dwarf galaxies and active galaxies.